7th Workshop on Algebraic Complexity Theory (WACT) 2023

Time and Place

This is an on-site event. In the unlikely event that public health measures related to COVID-19 make physical events infeasible, it will be held in a virtual online format.

Algebraic Complexity Theory is a vibrant field that has been seeing a tremendous amount of activity in the recent years. Its classical questions have been interwoven with deep questions from algebraic geometry, invariant theory, and representation theory. Researchers study a wide range of interlinked topics: arithmetic circuit lower bounds, algorithmic algebra, algorithmic invariant theory, geometric complexity theory, tensor rank, polynomial identity testing, and polynomial reconstruction, to name a few. The workshop brings together experts from different parts of this rich field to discuss the current state of the art, discover new connections, and set the directions for the future.

Plenary Speakers

We are very sad to announce that Heribert Vollmer cannot participate due to health reasons. We wish him all the very best, and a fast and full recovery.


Mon 27Tue 28Wed 29Thu 30Fri 31Sat 1
09:00-09:30plenary talk: Tavenasplenary talk: Fawziplenary talk: ShpilkaZuiddamplenary talk: Derksen
10:00-10:30coffee break / registrationcoffee breakcoffee breakcoffee breakcoffee break
10:30-11:00BhargavKoiranSinhababuplenary talk: QiaoMakam
11:00-11:30SubrahmanyamSahaTengseA. Chatterjee
11:30-12:00coffee breakcoffee breakcoffee breakcoffee breakcoffee break
12:00-12:30LysikovBürgisserGesmundoNezhadiP. Chatterjee
12:30-14:00lunch at NAIC Cafélunch at NAIC CaféGroup picture, then lunch at NAIC Cafélunch at NAIC Cafélunch at NAIC Café
14:00-14:30plenary talk: CurticapeanKumarplenary talk: Sarafplenary talk: SaxenaRaj
15:00-15:30coffee breakcoffee breakbreakcoffee breakcoffee break
15:30-16:00UmansChillaraLight hike through the countryside, off-campus dinner at the Queen and CastleGurGhosal
16:30-17:00BhargavaOpen problem sessionAndrewsMoosbauer
17:00-17:30Informal small group researchInformal small group researchInformal small group research
17:30-18:15Informal small group research
18:30-19:30dinner on campus at Radcliffedinner on campus at Radcliffedinner on campus at Radcliffedinner on campus at Radcliffe


Registration is closed.

Registered Participants

Robert Andrews (University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign), Amik Raj Behera (Aarhus University), CS Bhargav (IIT Kanpur), Vishwas Bhargava (University of Waterloo), Somnath Bhattacharjee (Chennai Mathematical Institute), Tejas Bhojraj (Chennai Mathematical Insitute), Peter Bürgisser (TU Berlin), Bruno Cavalar (Warwick), Abhranil Chatterjee (National Institute of Science Education and Research, Bhubaneswar, India), Prerona Chatterjee (Tel Aviv University), Suryajith Chillara (International Institute of Information Technology, Hyderabad), Artur Czumaj (University of Warwick), Nathaniel Aaron Collins (University of Colorado Boulder), Manik Dhar (Princeton University), Prateek Dwivedi (CSE, IIT Kanpur), Sarah Eggleston (Universität Osnabrück), Michael Forbes (University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign), Hervé Fournier (Université Paris Cité), Fulvio Gesmundo (Saarland University), Utsab Ghosal (Chennai Mathematical Institute), Siddharth Gupta (University of Warwick), Tom Gur (Warwick), Christian Ikenmeyer (Warwick), Neeraj Kayal (Microsoft Research, Bangalore), Pascal Koiran (ENS Lyon), Mrinal Kumar (Tata Institute of Fundamental Research), Deepanshu Kush (University of Toronto), Martin Lotz (University of Warwick), Benjamin Lovitz (Northeastern University), Vladimir Lysikov (University of Copenhagen), Visu Makam (Radix Trading Europe B. V.), Guillaume Malod (Université Paris Cité), Gopinath Mishra (University of Warwick), Kunal Mittal (Princeton University), Chandra Kanta Mohapatra (IIT Bombay, India), Jakob Moosbauer (Johannes Kepler Universität Linz), Anish Mukherjee (University of Warwick), Saswata Mukherjee (Chennai Mathematical Institute), Saraswati Girish Nanoti (IIT Gandhinagar), Abhiram Natarajan (University of Warwick), Seyed Sajjad Nezhadi (University of Maryland), Fedor Part (Institute of Mathematics CAS), Oleg Pikhurko (University of Warwick), Aditya Prakash (University of Warwick), Thejaswini Raghavan (University of Warwick), Roshan Raj (IIT Bombay), Ninad Rajgopal (University of Warwick), Varun Ramanathan (TIFR Mumbai), Subhayan Saha (ENS Lyon), Katerina Santicola (University of Warwick), Nitin Saurabh (Indian Institute of Technology Hyderabad), Amit Kumar Sinhababu (Chennai Mathematical Institute), Devansh Shringi (University of Toronto), Ramanujan Sridharan (University of Warwick), KV Subrahmanyam (Chennai Mathematical Institute), Anamay Tengse (University of Haifa), Dhara Thakkar (IIT Gandhinagar), Chris Umans (Caltech), S. Venkitesh (University of Haifa), Harry Zisopoulos (Saarland University), Jeroen Zuiddam (University of Amsterdam)


If you travel on your own funds, we recommend the on-campus accommodation Scarman or Radcliffe, but there are many options in Coventry, Kenilworth, and Leamington Spa. Several bus lines connect the campus with the surrounding area, see the map and the timetables.


The nearest airport is Birmingham International (BHX), but you can also take the train from London. A train goes from BHX to Coventry; another train goes from London Euston to Coventry. See thetrainline.com. From Coventry several bus lines go to campus regularly, for example 11 or 12X, see the map and the timetables. If your hotel is in Kenilworth, you can take a bus from campus to Kenilworth.

You can take long distance buses instead of trains, in order to avoid the rail strikes on April 1st.

It is a 10 minute walk from the University Interchange bus station to the Department of Computer Science, which is not necessarily the closest bus station, but the easiest.

Abstracts (sorted alphabetically by last name)

Previous WACTs


Organised by Christian Ikenmeyer and the administrative staff of the Department of Computer Science and the Warwick Mathematics Institute, and Martin Lotz and Abhiram Natarajan.